In Your Face Alternative for Mac: Final Call Compared
Final Call · Comparison as of: October 21, 2026
Comparison as of: October 21, 2026
All information on features, prices and ratings comes from the App Store listings of both apps and the Final Call pricing page, retrieved on October 21, 2026. It may change.
Looking for an alternative to In Your Face? Both apps solve the same problem: they replace the small calendar notification with a reminder that fills the whole screen and get you into the video call with one click. Final Call is such an alternative for the Mac, but not the better choice for everyone. This page shows how the apps differ and also lists the downsides of Final Call.
For transparency: this comparison is written by the makers of Final Call. Information about In Your Face comes from its public App Store listing. Where something is not stated there, we write “not stated” instead of guessing.
In short: Final Call or In Your Face?
Final Call is the better fit if you work on the Mac only, prefer a one-time purchase (€9.99) over a subscription, want to check your camera and microphone before joining, and want to keep your calendar data local on your Mac.
In Your Face is the better fit if you also need reminders on iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch, want to connect Google or Microsoft accounts directly in the app, want multiple reminders per event, or need more settings such as smart filters and travel time.
Comparison: Final Call and In Your Face (as of October 21, 2026)
| Feature | Final Call | In Your Face |
|---|---|---|
| Platforms | Mac only (macOS 13 Ventura or later) | Mac, iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch |
| Pricing | 14-day free trial, no credit card. Then either a one-time purchase (Lifetime License, €9.99) or a subscription (Final Call Pro, €1.49 per month). Both unlock the same features. The introductory price is planned to rise later; existing purchases are not affected. | Free download with in-app purchases. According to the App Store listing, a subscription unlocks iPhone, iPad and Mac. Prices: see the App Store. Trial period: not stated. |
| Calendars | Apple Calendar (the macOS Calendar app). Google, Exchange and iCloud calendars appear once you add the account under System Settings → Internet Accounts. | Apple Calendar app, or Google and Microsoft accounts connected directly in the app. |
| Full-screen reminder | Yes. With a live countdown. At the start time the reminder turns red and shakes. It stays until you join, snooze or dismiss it. | Yes. |
| Reminder timing | Configurable: at start, 1, 2, 3, 5, 10 or 15 minutes before, or the alert time of the calendar event. Without a calendar alert: 5 minutes before. | 1 minute before by default. Adjustable per event. |
| Multiple reminders per event | No. One reminder per event, then snooze. | Yes (according to the App Store, since the “Multiple Alerts per Event” update). |
| Snooze | Until the event starts, +3 or +5 minutes. | Available. The exact options are not listed in the App Store listing. |
| Video meeting detection | 18 services: Zoom, Microsoft Teams, Google Meet, Webex, Slack, Skype, GoTo Meeting, Whereby, Discord, Amazon Chime, RingCentral, BlueJeans, Wire, Jitsi Meet, Nextcloud Talk, FaceTime, 8x8 Meet, Zoho Meeting. | More than 60 services. |
| One-click join | Yes, by button or keyboard shortcut. | Yes, with one click. |
| Camera and microphone check before joining | Yes. Camera preview and microphone level inside the reminder, both optional and can be turned off. | Not mentioned in the App Store listing. |
| Menu bar | No Dock icon. List of all events of the day, progress ring for ongoing events. | Overview of current and upcoming events. |
| Customization | Keyboard shortcuts for join, snooze and dismiss. Reminder sound. Blurred or dimmed background. Choice of screen, including all screens. Dock and menu bar can be hidden during the reminder. Video meetings only or all events. No new reminders during a running video meeting. | Per-event customization, smart filters, travel time, custom alert sounds, themes, integration with Apple Reminders. |
| Languages | 13: Danish, Dutch, English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Spanish, Swedish. | English and four more. |
| Privacy (as stated by the developers) | Calendar data is read locally; no data is sent to external servers. Declared in the App Store privacy details: purchases (not linked to identity). | Declared in the App Store privacy details, not linked to identity: purchases, identifiers, usage data. |
| Accessibility (as stated by the developers) | Not stated in the App Store listing. | VoiceOver, dark interface, differentiate without color, reduced motion. |
| Ratings in the US App Store | Not enough ratings yet for a summary. | 4.9 out of 5 from about 2,700 ratings. “Editors’ Choice” badge. |
As of October 21, 2026. Sources: App Store listings of both apps (US store) and the Final Call pricing page. Information about In Your Face comes from its public App Store listing. Anything not found there is marked “not stated” or “not mentioned”.
Where Final Call can be the better alternative
One-time purchase instead of a subscription, Mac only
If you work only on the Mac, you can buy Final Call once for €9.99 (introductory price) and need no ongoing subscription. If you prefer to pay monthly, choose Final Call Pro for €1.49 per month. Both options unlock the same features. The download is free, and the first 14 days run without a credit card.
Camera and microphone check right in the reminder
Before joining, the full-screen reminder shows a camera preview and your microphone level. Both are optional and can be turned off in the settings. The In Your Face App Store listing does not mention a comparable feature.
Calendar data stays on your Mac
Final Call reads your calendar locally and sends no data to external servers. You do not need an account. Camera and microphone are used only for the preview and are not recorded.
Only the reminders you need
You can choose whether Final Call reminds you for all events or only for video meetings, how early the reminder appears (from the start time up to 15 minutes before) and whether it appears on one or all screens. During a running video meeting you can hold back new reminders. They appear as soon as the meeting ends.
Downsides of Final Call compared to In Your Face
These points speak against Final Call. Check them before you switch.
macOS only
Final Call is not available for iPhone, iPad or Apple Watch and requires macOS 13 Ventura or later. According to the App Store, In Your Face runs on Mac, iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch, and one subscription unlocks iPhone, iPad and Mac.
No direct connection for Google and Microsoft accounts
Final Call reads only the macOS Calendar app. Google, Exchange and iCloud calendars appear only after you add the account under System Settings → Internet Accounts. According to the App Store, In Your Face can connect Google and Microsoft accounts directly.
Fewer settings per event
Final Call shows one reminder per event, after which you can snooze. According to the App Store, In Your Face offers multiple reminders per event, per-event customization, travel time and integration with Apple Reminders.
18 instead of more than 60 detected video services
Final Call detects links from 18 video conferencing services. In Your Face lists more than 60 in the App Store. If you use a less common service, check beforehand whether it is included.
New on the market, few ratings so far
Final Call was released in 2026 and does not yet have enough ratings in the US App Store for a summary. In Your Face has 4.9 out of 5 stars from about 2,700 ratings there, the “Editors’ Choice” badge, and was already reviewed by Macworld in May 2022.
The introductory price will rise
The €9.99 is an introductory price that is planned to rise later. If you buy before that, later price changes do not affect you.
No accessibility information
In the Final Call App Store listing, the developer has not yet stated any accessibility features. In Your Face lists VoiceOver, dark interface, differentiate without color and reduced motion.
When In Your Face is the better choice
In Your Face is the better choice if you need reminders on several Apple devices, want to connect Google or Microsoft accounts directly in the app, use multiple reminders per event, or want the larger range of settings (smart filters, travel time, themes). The app also has far more ratings in the App Store and a longer track record. If that matters more to you than a one-time purchase, stay with In Your Face.
Pricing at a glance
Final Call: The download is free, with a 14-day trial of all features and no credit card. After that, the Lifetime License costs €9.99 once, or Final Call Pro costs €1.49 per month. You can cancel the subscription at any time in your Apple account settings. Both options unlock the same features. The App Store shows prices in your local currency. The introductory price is planned to rise later.
In Your Face: The download is free, and the full version is available through in-app purchases. According to the App Store, a subscription unlocks iPhone, iPad and Mac. The App Store shows the current prices in your country. We deliberately name no figure here because the prices are not part of the listing description and can differ by country.
Frequently asked questions about the In Your Face alternative
Is Final Call an alternative to In Your Face?
Yes, for people who want a full-screen reminder before meetings on the Mac. Both apps cover the whole screen and get you into the video call with one click. Final Call runs on the Mac only; In Your Face also runs on iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch.
How much does Final Call cost compared to In Your Face?
Final Call has a 14-day free trial without a credit card. After that, the Lifetime License costs €9.99 once (introductory price) or Final Call Pro €1.49 per month. According to the App Store, In Your Face is a free download with in-app purchases, and a subscription unlocks iPhone, iPad and Mac. The current In Your Face prices are listed in the App Store.
Does Final Call work with Google Calendar and Exchange?
Final Call reads the macOS Calendar app. Google, Exchange and iCloud calendars work once you have added the account under System Settings → Internet Accounts. There is no direct sign-in inside the app. According to the App Store, In Your Face can connect Google and Microsoft accounts directly.
Is Final Call available for iPhone or iPad?
No. Final Call runs on the Mac only and requires macOS 13 Ventura or later.
Which video conferencing services does Final Call detect?
18 services: Zoom, Microsoft Teams, Google Meet, Webex, Slack, Skype, GoTo Meeting, Whereby, Discord, Amazon Chime, RingCentral, BlueJeans, Wire, Jitsi Meet, Nextcloud Talk, FaceTime, 8x8 Meet and Zoho Meeting. In Your Face lists more than 60 services in the App Store.
Does Final Call send my calendar data to a server?
No. Final Call reads your calendar locally on your Mac and sends no data to external servers. Camera and microphone are used only for the preview inside the reminder and are not recorded or transmitted.
How do I switch from In Your Face to Final Call?
You do not need to move any calendar data. Install Final Call, allow calendar access and choose the calendars you want reminders for. Settings from In Your Face are not imported. Quit In Your Face or turn off its reminders so you are not reminded twice.
Is there a trial version of Final Call?
Yes. You can try Final Call with all features for 14 days, no credit card required.
Try Final Call free for 14 days
The quickest way to see whether Final Call is the better alternative for you: install it, allow calendar access, and look at a test reminder. The trial lasts 14 days and needs no credit card.
Sources
All sources were retrieved on October 21, 2026, except the Macworld review, which dates from May 13, 2022.
“In Your Face” is a name of its respective owner. Final Call is not affiliated with In Your Face or its developer. All information without guarantee, as of October 21, 2026. If you spot an error, contact us through the support page and we will correct it.